Christianity, Politics, and the ‘Submission’ Question


I’ve come across two articles on the subject after GOP presidential candidate Michele Bachmann was asked by Byron York at the debate in Iowa.

The first one is by Roland Martin who is a contributor at CNN. I generally do not agree with him on his liberal views, but this article of his is worthy of sharing.

Here’s the excerpt:

From a religious standpoint, I understand and get submission, even writing about it in my book, “Listening to the Spirit Within: 50 Perspectives on Faith.”

For me, submission begins with me as a husband. When my wife knows that I’m willing to seek God’s direction for my life, she knows that I’m not making crazy decisions. So she is willing to trust my judgment on various matters. And in doing so, I’m willing to trust that God has put me with the right woman, and I can trust her decisions, and that she will do what’s best for both of us. This has nothing to do with losing your own mind as a woman. It is about following what Ephesians 5:21 says: “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.”

It really is an issue that has to be fully explained to people and not taken as, “I tell you what to do, and you follow what I say.”

Full text at
http://www.cnn.com/2011/OPINION/08/12/martin.bachmann.submission/index.html?hpt=op_t1
******************

The second piece:

By Glenn T. Stanton – The Corner – National Review Online
Christianity, Politics, and the ‘Submission’ Question – By Glenn T. Stanton – The Corner – National Review Online.
*******************

By PNC

My Take as follows.

People have faulted Byron York for having asked such a question of a female candidate; criticisms abound. I agree with them if the questioner and the cheering crowds do so to mock the faith and gender of a candidate.

But I am going to give Byron York the benefit of a lesser blunder if he did not ask the question out of malice, which I believe that he did not. I even think that the question is valid if phrased differently.

Here’s what preceded Byron’s question:

“In 2006, when you were running for Congress, you described a moment in your life when your husband said you should study for a degree in tax law. You said you hated the idea. And then you explained, “But the Lord said, ‘Be submissive. Wives, you are to be submissive to your husbands.’ ”

“As president, would you be submissive to your husband?”

All presidential candidates should not be given passes by avoiding serious journalistic questions because of political correctness. Perhaps Byron could have phrased the question differently to find out if she will be the final decision maker by virtue of her position and responsibility as president, and not her husband as the head of the marriage.

The last time around, candidate Obama was given generous passes by the media and excited supporters. He was shielded from necessary vatting.

Candidate Michele Bachmann was asked a question many people want to know where she stands.

She answered it; she answered it well.

Now could we give Byron York a break?

About pnclaw

I am not a political activist, but I am paying attention to what's happening in our beloved country, especially for the sake of my grandchildren. I hope you are too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment