A Radiation Oncologist’s personal Story about the Devastation and Therapeutic value of Radiation


Just have to share this heart warming story by Dr. Komake. Here is a woman who transcended from the horrific experience of the Atomic bomb aftermath into a life career of healing using the same medium.
WWII has always triggered divergent emotions, especially for Pacific Rim Asians.
Love, Sensibility, intellectual honesty ……. triumph over anger.
*********************************
‘Radiation has always been part of my story’
By Ritsuko Komaki, Special to CNN
March 17, 2011 9:49 a.m. EDT

STORY HIGHLIGHTS
• Oncologist Ritsuko Komaki was on her way from U.S. to Japan when quake struck
• A Hiroshima survivor, she says nuclear disaster that followed quake carries sense of déjà vu
• Family, friends died from bomb’s effects; she became oncologist to harness radiation for good
• Komaki: Women, children must be protected; Japan must share information to save lives
Editor’s note: Ritsuko Komaki is a Hiroshima survivor and oncologist based in Houston.
Full story http://www.cnn.com/2011/OPINION/03/17/komaki.hiroshima.survivor.japan/index.html?hpt=C2

About pnclaw

I am not a political activist, but I am paying attention to what's happening in our beloved country, especially for the sake of my grandchildren. I hope you are too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Radiation Oncologist’s personal Story about the Devastation and Therapeutic value of Radiation

  1. I drop a leave a response when I especially enjoy a post on a
    site or if I have something to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the article I looked at. And on this article A Radiation Oncologists personal Story about the Devastation and Therapeutic value of Radiation | PncLaw’s Blog.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a thought
    😛 I do have some questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be simply me or do a few of these responses come across as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you make a list the complete urls of all your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  2. Katherin says:

    It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future
    and it’s time to be happy. I have learn this publish and if I could I wish to counsel you some interesting issues or tips. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article. I wish to read more things approximately it!

  3. Hello there, I believe your website could possibly be having
    web browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your
    web site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in IE,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent website!

Leave a comment