What’s So Great About America?


My sister-in-law and husband support the King’s College in NY. She forwarded their newsletter re the new President Dinesh D’Sousa’s soon to be released book “How Obama thinks”.

This hastens my plan to introduce one of his books I read last winter that impressed me greatly, “What’s so Great about America?”

I believe that the impact of the book on me is one of the reasons I started my blog. A citizen should place his/her allegiance to the country in perspective, out of love for the country’s values, character, and nobleness.

I chose the following readers’ reviews which convey exactly what I would say about the book.

The title of the last chapter is “America the Beautiful- What we are fighting for”.

You would feel enlightened, uplifted, and hopeful for America.

**********************************

Simple and Profound….., May 30, 2002
By John Zxerce “johnzxerce@hotmail.com” (Colorado ^^^) – See all my reviews

This review is from: What’s So Great About America (Hardcover)

How perfectly appropriate for someone born outside the United Sates to write a book on the wonders of the American experiment. People who are born in America all too often end up dismissing the opportunity, freedom, and decency the country offers. D’Souza knows first hand how American ideals contrast with much of the rest of the world and as a result he appreciates and loves the country because of what it is, what is was, and has become.

–D’Souza does not merely drape his writing in emotional drivel and sentiment, but rather he provides sound arguments and compelling reasons for why patriotism to such a country is not only justified, but obligatory.

–D’Souza takes on America’s critics and doesn’t back down to their charges. He shows why the extreme left and extreme right both pose threats to American freedom, character, and values.

–No, D’Souza does not take the reader on a blind cheerleading exercise, but rather he engages the reader with facts. He rigorously lays out why American democracy places faith in people and then challenges his reader to declare a verdict on whether American ideologies should be preserved, and whether a call back to the country’s foundations is a worthwhile pursuit.

–My favorite part of the book is D’Souza’s exposition of the **importance of combining morality with freedom. This is such an essential element and one that too many Americans are quick to forget. Freedom devoid of a moral foundation will quickly crumble into chaos. However, Freedom anchored on solid ethical principles will blossom into a civilization where justice is loved and injustice is not tolerated.
In short, this is one of the best books of the year and one I highly recommend.

**I believe this reviewer refers to Chapter Five, titled, “When Virtues Loses All Her Loveliness – Freedom and Its Abuses” Ultimately, the greatness of our nation can be traced back to a moral foundation with reverence to God. PLaw

What a fascinating Book!, January 11, 2003
By just bein’ Frank (Woodbury, CT) – See all my reviews

This review is from: What’s So Great About America (Hardcover)

I finished this book literally minutes ago and I consider it one of the best books I’ve ever read.

An Indian immigrant, Mr. D’Souza brings a unique perspective to the topic of American culture and politics. He lays out a realistic and intellectually impressive argument that “there is something great and noble about America.”

He revisits the history of Western civilization and offers an interpretation that is foreign to any contemporary student of American and European history: that–above all else–the West, with America embodying its ideals, has had an undeniably positive impact on people’s lives throughout the world.

D’Souza takes on tough issues, like the impacts of slavery, racism, colonialism, and the cultural permissiveness that the non-Western world hates, with skill as a writer and erudition as a philosopher, historian, and political analyst.

“What’s So Great About America” is my first D’Souza book, but it certainly will not be my last. Mr. D’Souza’s writing is personal and smooth; he seamlessly weaves anecdotes with facts, history with philosophy, and humor with logic. I couldn’t get enough of this book.

One last note that is important to make is that Mr. D’Souza is as far from partisan (or even ideological) as one possibly can be. He takes on everyone from Noam Chomsky to Robert Bork. Don’t dismiss the book upon seeing its title. It is not the “feel-good” book that the cover makes it out to be; it is profoundly intellectual, even eye-opening. It will, if nothing else, broaden your worldview.

See other reviews at:
http://www.amazon.com/Whats-So-Great-about-America/product-reviews/0142003018/ref=cm_cr_pr_shwvpnt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1&pageNumber=2&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending

***************************************

About pnclaw

I am not a political activist, but I am paying attention to what's happening in our beloved country, especially for the sake of my grandchildren. I hope you are too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s So Great About America?

  1. Anna says:

    Sounds like an interesting book. I recently saw a movie entitled “Mao’s Last Dancer.” It made me appreciate the freedom we have in this country. I pray we don’t abuse that freedom, nor take it for granted.

  2. pnclaw says:

    I strongly recommend the book.

    Thanks for telling me about the movie. I googled it and will try to see it.
    My search led me to his own message re the movie, happened to be on Huffingtonpost. So I responded, and copied and pasted it here.
    *********
    I’m glad that his extraordinary life is made into a movie. I am glad to read Mr. Li’s own message here. This reminds me of the many stories we have heard and read about the cruelty and dictatorship of Mao’ rule in communist China.(Mao’s personal physician Dr. Li wrote a close up account of the fearsome leader and Madam Mao). They are real and still fresh in memory.

    My family had the means and will to leave China just before she fell into Mao’s rule. In nearby Hong Kong, there was no shortage of tragic news coming out of the mainland in those years.

    The cultural revolution under his order caused tremendous suffering and death, children ruled against parents, students against teachers, workers against supervisors.

    Is it any wonder that those of us who know this part of Chinese history want to cry for this country when one of President Obama’s top advisers Anita Dunn said that Mao is one of the two most admired philosophers she would look to in her speech?

    Liberals treasure freedom, yet there is silence about this, and about the president’s appointment of the FCC czar Mark Lloyd who praised Hugo Chavez whose country does not enjoy freedom of speech.

    Freedom is to be treasured. I would add that it is not to be set aside in someone’s speech in order to exalt a certain ideology to prove one’s progressiveness of thoughts.

    It bears mentioning that in those years of the evolution of Chinese communist polity, we literally called those who support communism the “progressives” in Chinese.

  3. 創業 says:

    Superb posting, I share the same views. I wonder why this particular world truly does not picture for a moment like me and also the blog site creator 😀

    • pnclaw says:

      Thanks for your comment. Did you mean pictures of posters and myself?
      Well, I am a modest person. My desire is to bring awareness to my circle of friends the importance of voting. I also hope that they will spread the word or forward articles that may be helpful to their friends. thus I am remaining anonymous.
      Please come back and comment.

    • pnclaw says:

      Hi, You might want to watch an interesting video with spoken Mandarin and Asian actors made by citizens against government waste. Visit my blog and click on entry dated 10/21 A scenario about our China debt.
      Regards

Leave a Reply

