My Country Tis of Thee, my little daughter sang


When my daughter was going to Kindergarten (decades ago), every day I would ask her what she had learned at school. She first exposed me to the pledge of allegiance, which I talked about in my early post, then she sang to me “my country tis of Thee, sweet land of liberty, of Thee I sing.” Having immigrated to the US only a few years, as a Christian I was very touched, by the public profession of love of country and reverence to God as taught by the teacher and school. She went to a Christian school then. I might have thought that this spirit was taught at public schools too at that time since songs like God bless America are sung in a lot of public functions. I doubt that it is true now.

I feel like our grand children are missing out on something so precious, to be able to profess freely the love of God and country at school. In fact, most likely they will be stopped by teachers in order to avoid offending other children (whose parents) who do not believe in God.

I hope young parents will be cognizant of the secularism our young children are growing up in. I got a lot of inspiration and motivation by the material from Focus on the Family. I hope you will visit it regularly, or from time to time to get encouragement. It opened my eyes to pay attention to voting. http://www.focusonthefamily.com

“If you don’t vote, you are letting others make decisions for you who may not share your value.”

I am recommending this website that encourages Christians to engage in public issues.

http://citizenlink.org

****************************
CitizenLink is a family advocacy organization that inspires men and women to live out biblical citizenship that transforms culture. As an affiliate of Focus on the Family, we provide resources that equip citizens to make their voices heard on critical social policy issues involving the sanctity of human life, the preservation of religious liberties and the well-being of the family as the building block of society.
We help citizens understand and passionately engage in policy issues relevant to families from a foundation firmly established in a biblical worldview. We also encourage them to participate in the democratic process in order to forge a better future for our children and our culture.
*********************************

That’s why I am thinking of November. I hope you do too.

About pnclaw

I am not a political activist, but I am paying attention to what's happening in our beloved country, especially for the sake of my grandchildren. I hope you are too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

